Keep Arkansas Beautiful Awards Springhill Elementary, Hurricane Creek Elementary $2,500 Grants Through 2022-2023 NexTrex® School Recycling Program

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — The Keep Arkansas Beautiful Commission (KAB) has awarded Springhill Elementary School and Hurricane Creek Elementary School each a $2,500 grant for campus beautification efforts as part of Trex® Company’s [NYSE:TREX] 2022-2023 NexTrex® School Recycling Program in Arkansas. On August 11, 2023, KAB held a special check presentation at both schools to honor them for recycling the most materials during the 2022-2023 program.

“Youth education programs are an important part of how we promote and inspire litter prevention and recycling efforts across the state,” said Colbie Jones, director of KAB. “We are proud of the great work that this year’s grant recipients and other participating Arkansas schools have done to keep their communities clean and litter free. We look forward to continuing to make an impact with our partners at Trex.”

The NexTrex® School Recycling Program allows schools across the U.S. to compete and win cash prizes of up to $5,000 for collecting the largest volume of recyclable, polyethylene plastic items. Last year, KAB announced that it has partnered with Trex for a new grant incentive where Arkansas school recycling challenge winners receive a $2,500 grant for a school beautification project that also provides environmental stewardship education for students.

“Trex is proud of the initiative that schools across the nation have taken to teach and promote environmental stewardship to future generations,” said James Reddish, director of corporate affairs at Trex. “We are thankful for our partners at Keep Arkansas Beautiful for their dedication to protecting and sustaining the environment in Arkansas, setting a great example for states across the U.S.”

From Nov. 15, 2022, through April 15, 2023, Springhill Elementary collected 1,160 pounds of eligible recyclable items, and Hurricane Creek Elementary collected 536 pounds. Additionally, 11 Arkansas schools participated in the program, where students collected 2,941 pounds of recyclable plastic film.

Plastics that can be recycled through the program include polyethylene films like grocery bags, bread bags and product wraps. Items collected are then recycled to manufacture Trex decking. The program is enhanced by support from corporate partner Charter Next Generation (CNG), which is one of the leading providers of specialty polyethylene film in North America.

Learn more about the NexTrex® School Recycling Program at For more information about KAB and its youth education efforts across the state, visit

Keep Arkansas Beautiful The Keep Arkansas Beautiful Commission (KAB) consists of a professional staff of three and a nine-member advisory board appointed by the governor. KAB is a part of Arkansas State Parks, a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. KAB is a certified state affiliate of Keep America Beautiful Inc. and inspires and educates individuals to reduce litter, recycle and keep Arkansas beautiful. KAB is funded by 1% of the eighth-cent Conservation Tax. For more information, visit Stay in the know by following Keep Arkansas Beautiful on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube and texting VOLUNTEER to (501) 287-3596.

Arkansas State Parks Arkansas

State Parks is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. Arkansas state parks and museums cover 55,006 acres of forest, wetlands, fish and wildlife habitat, outdoor recreation facilities, and unique historic and cultural resources. Established in 1923, Arkansas State Parks preserve special places for future generations, provide quality recreation and education opportunities, enhance the state’s economy through tourism and provide leadership in resource conservation. Connect with ASP on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, and visit and to learn more.

Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism

The Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism protects and promotes our state’s natural, cultural and historic assets, contributing to a thriving economy and high quality of life. It is made up of three divisions: Arkansas State Parks, Arkansas Heritage and Arkansas Tourism. Shea Lewis serves as the interim secretary for the department.

Get News and Events

Sign up for our newsletter