Commission elects officers for 2014

Commission elects officers for 2014

Little Rock (Jan. 10, 2014) – Dianne Hammond of El Dorado and Betty Shaw of Jonesboro have been elected officers of the Keep Arkansas Beautiful Commission. Hammond will serve as chairwoman and Shaw will serve as vice chairwoman for 2014.

Hammond was appointed by Gov. Mike Beebe to the Keep Arkansas Beautiful Commission in 2012. She has been a member of the El Dorado City Council since 1994. She recently served as chairwoman of the El Dorado Advertising and Promotion Committee and serves on the El Dorado Festival and Events Marketing Committee. She also has volunteered for many organizations, including Relay for Life, El Dorado Boy Scouts and Camp Fire Girls.

Shaw was appointed by Gov. Mike Beebe to the Keep Arkansas Beautiful Commission in 2011. Since retiring from the National Commission on Housing in 1987, she has served as a private consultant to independent-living and assisted-living developers. She has volunteered with many organizations and has served on the Jonesboro Metropolitan Area Planning Commission and Jonesboro Storm Water Drainage Commission and is a past president of the Downtown Jonesboro Association. She also volunteers with hospice and Katrina relief.

About Keep Arkansas Beautiful

As a certified state affiliate of Keep America Beautiful Inc., Keep Arkansas Beautiful works to inspire and educate individuals to reduce litter, recycle and keep Arkansas beautiful. It operates as a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism and is overseen by a nine-member commission appointed by the governor. KAB is funded by 1 percent of the eighth-cent conservation tax and, by utilizing volunteers, returns to the state a cost benefit of more than $6 in community service for each program dollar spent. For more information about KAB, visit, or stay connected on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram.

Get News and Events

Sign Up for our Newsletter