Carroll County Solid Waste Authority Wins Statewide Recycling Award

Organizations recognized for recycling efforts

The Arkansas Recycling Coalition (ARC) held its annual awards presentation at the Robinson Center, Little Rock, on September 13th. The presentation took place during the Arkansas Recycling Coalition’s 22nd Annual Conference & Trade Show. Each year this educational event attracts approximately 300 reduce, reuse, recycle, and sustainability professionals from around the state and nation.

Carroll County Solid Waste Authority located in Eureka Springs was a recipient of ARC’s 2012 Recycling Education Program of the Year Award. This award is presented to the organization, school or individual that has established a proven Recycling Education Program, which offers an integrated approach incorporating source reduction, product reuse, recycling, and sustainability into a comprehensive educational program within a community or region.

Photo by Billy Hopson

On hand to accept the award from ARC’s Awards Chairman, Bobby Fanning, is Gary Gray and Bryan Launius of CCSWA. CCSWA won the award for the education trailer they created this year. Phil Jackson, Director of CCSWA, saw a need for education within the Authority and developed an educational trailer to help in their waste diversion efforts. The trailer is provided to schools and organizations in Carroll County, and includes a video explaining where trash and recyclables go, how recyclables are processed, and the reasons why we all need to focus on waste diversion.

Other award winners were AR National Guard – Camp Robinson (North Little Rock) for Government Recycler of the Year; Cross County Special Workshop (Wynne) for Recycling Education Program of the Year; McKee Foods Corporation (Gentry) for Corporate Recycler of the Year; eSCO Processing & Recycling (Rogers) for Community Involvement Award; and Carl Davis, Davis Iron & Metal (Fort Smith), for Individual Recycler of the Year. A Distinguished Service Award was presented to Don Curran, Virco Manufacturing Corporation, for his many years of dedicated service to ARC and the community.

Award Sponsors for this year’s event included Delta Plastics (Little Rock, AR), UNICOR Federal Prison System (Texarkana, TX), Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control (E. Camden, AR), ORE-Recovered Materials (Clinton, AR), and Regional Recycling & Waste Reduction District (Little Rock, AR).

Founded in 1989, the ARC unites companies, government agencies, nonprofit organizations, and individuals in a common effort to promote reduce, reuse, recycle, and sustainability as a primary means of waste management in Arkansas. For more information, visit or call Cherie O’Mary, ARC Executive Director, at (866) 290-1429.

Get News and Events

Sign Up for our Newsletter