Elrod, Rogers to lead commission in 2017

Dr. Mark Elrod of Conway has been elected by his fellow commissioners to serve a one-year term as chairman of the Keep Arkansas Beautiful Commission, and Mary Joe Rogers of Stamps has been re-elected to a second one-year term as vice chairwoman.

Elrod, who represents Congressional District 2, and Rogers, representing Congressional District 4, will serve their terms for the 2017 calendar year beginning in January.

Elrod is a visiting assistant professor in the political science department at the University of Central Arkansas in Conway. He was appointed to a six-year term on the KAB Commission in 2014; his term on the commission expires in 2020.

Rogers is retired as the Lafayette County circuit clerk. She was appointed to a six-year term on the commission in 2014; her term also expires in 2020.

About the Keep Arkansas Beautiful Commission
As a certified state affiliate of Keep America Beautiful Inc., the Keep Arkansas Beautiful Commission (KAB) works to inspire and educate individuals to reduce litter, recycle and keep Arkansas beautiful. KAB is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism. A three-person professional staff and a nine-member advisory board appointed by the governor manage its programs. KAB is funded by 1 percent of the eighth-cent conservation tax and, by mobilizing volunteers, returns to the state a cost benefit of more than $6 in community service for each program dollar spent. For more information about KAB, visit KeepArkansasBeautiful.com or stay connected on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.

Get News and Events

Sign Up for our Newsletter